About District

Mawkyrwat Civil Sub-Division was notified as a fully fledged Civil Sub Division with effect from 26th June, 1982 under Government Notification No. HPL.539/81/51, dated 22nd June 1982. And, whereas, for public convenience and better administration the Governor of Meghalaya considers it necessary to upgrade the said Mawkyrwat Civil Sub-Division of West Khasi Hills District with minor modifications, therein, into a fully fledged District. And whereas, the new District will compose all the villages of two Community & Rural Development Blocks viz. Ranikor Community & Rural Development Block and Mawkyrwat Community & Rural Development Block, including 18(Eighteen) villages under Warsan Lyngdoh Gram Sevak Circle of Nongstoin in Community & Rural Development Block as listed in the Schedule-I to the Notification with the following boundaries:

  • North: West Khasi Hills District
  • South: Bangladesh
  • East: East Khasi Hills District
  • West: West Khasi Hills and South Garo Hills District

Now, therefore, the Governor of Meghalaya has upgraded Mawkyrwat Civil Sub-Division into a District Named as “South West Khasi Hills District” with headquarters at Mawkyrwat.